Elon Musk’s SpaceX capsule splashes down off Florida coast

April 2nd, 2019 (last updated)

CAPE CANAVERAL, Fla – An unmanned capsule from Elon Musk’s SpaceX splashed down into the Atlantic Ocean on Friday morning after a short-term stay on the International Space Station, capping the first orbital test mission in NASA’s long-delayed quest to resume human space flight from U.S. soil later this year.

After a six-day mission on the orbital outpost, Crew Dragon autonomously detached about 2:30 a.m EST (0730 GMT) on Friday and sped back to earth reaching hypersonic speeds before an 8:45 a.m. EST (1345 GMT) splash-down in the Atlantic, about 200 miles off the Florida coast.

A SpaceX rocket launched the 16-foot-tall capsule from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida last Saturday.

Minutes before splash-down, Crew Dragon deployed its four parachutes, easing some concerns about functionality that both NASA and SpaceX had before the landing.

sources:reuters

Fakty Miami

Polish parliament to be suspended until after Oct. 13 vote

(ABC NEWS) – Poland’s parliament is taking an unprecedented recess until after the Oct. 13 general election on a proposal from the ruling party that has raised questions about its intentions. The [Read more]

Fakty Miami

American coach Mike Taylor: From Pennsylvania to Poland

Poland made history in its opening game of the basketball World Cup in China, winning at the tournament for the first time in 52 years. Beating Venezuela might have been [Read more]

Fakty Miami

Samsung’s Galaxy Fold will go on sale on September 6 in South Korea

Samsung Electronics Co Ltd’s first foldable smartphone, the Galaxy Fold, will go on sale on Friday in South Korea, a source with direct knowledge of the matter said on Wednesday.  [Read more]